About Us

West Jefferson School District is located in Terreton, Idaho. Terreton is 32 miles west of Rexburg and 35 miles northwest of Idaho Falls. The community has breathtaking mountain views to the north and west and unlimited recreational activities such as hunting, fishing, boating, ATV riding, and camping. Agriculture is the main economic source to the community, with Alfalfa, Barley, Wheat, and Potatoes being the main crops. You will discover family-oriented, hard-working communities tucked away from big city life. Terreton is a 2-hour drive to West Yellowstone, a 2-hour drive to Jackson Hole, and a 1-hour drive to Craters of the Moon. Come and enjoy the best of all worlds!

West Jefferson School District is made up of four distinct communities. Monteview, Mud Lake, Terreton, and Hamer.  Many students from other districts come to West Jefferson to take advantage of our unique educational experience. Our district has approximately 600 students K-12, with West Jefferson High School having approximately 200 students in grades 9-12. West Jefferson School District: "Small School - Big Opportunities - Endless Possibilities."

West Jefferson School District 253 is governed by a set of policies that are developed and administered by a five-member, elected Board of Trustees. The day-to-day operation of the school district is overseen by the Superintendent, Shane Williams.